While the past week brought many changes around California for COVID-19 requirements, both the state statute and several local supplemental paid sick leave ordinances persist.

The statewide COVID-19 Supplemental Paid Sick Leave (“SPSL”) law remains in effect until September 30, 2021.

As a reminder, under the state SPSL, employees are entitled to leave for the

Changes in local regulations across California continue to shift the legal landscape for employers, bringing massive implications to their business. On August 18, 2020, Sonoma County passed a paid sick leave ordinance (the “Sonoma Ordinance”), which took effect immediately and sunsetting on December 31, 2020.  The Sonoma Ordinance brings sweeping changes to businesses in unincorporated

Before the COVID-19 crisis, there were limited paid leave entitlements in California for employees requiring time off to deal with childcare and school closures. California Labor Code 230.8 required that employers of 25 or more employees working at the same location were required to provide employees with up to 40 hours of unpaid leave within

In special session on July 14, 2014, the San Diego City Council voted 6-3 in favor of enacting the San Diego Earned Sick Leave and Minimum Wage Ordinance. The ordinance seeks to raise the San Diego minimum wage over the next three years, and mandates that employers within San Diego provide a minimum amount of earned paid sick leave, beyond that required by recently enacted California state law AB 1522 [click here for information regarding the requirements of AB 1522].

Although San Diego Mayor Kevin Faulconer vetoed the ordinance August 8, 2014, the San Diego City Council overrode the veto on August 18.
Continue Reading San Diego Enacts Earned Sick Leave and Minimum Wage Ordinance

This week the California Legislature returned from its final month-long break of the current legislative session. While the future of several workplace-related bills will be decided in the coming weeks, perhaps none are more significant to California private sector employers than AB 1522.  If passed, AB 1522 creates the “Healthy Families, Healthy Workplaces Act of 2014,” which requires employers to provide paid sick days for an employee who works for thirty (30) or more days in a calendar year.

Similar bills mandating paid sick leave were passed by the Assembly Committee on Judiciary in 2008, 2009, and 2011, but each was subsequently held in suspense in the Appropriations Committees. It is believed that AB 1522  has a greater chance of being passed as it is more limited than its predecessors insofar as it provides employees with a minimum of only 24 hours/three days of paid sick leave rather than the 72 hours/nine days there were provided under the previous three proposals.


Continue Reading California Legislature to Decide Mandatory Paid Sick Leave Bill